“See the sights with a local” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Myanmar Private Day Tours

Myanmar Private Day Tours
No. 6,7 Floor, Yankin Center | YCDC Apartment, Sayarsan Rood, Yankin Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
+95 9 886 00388
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The country of Myanmar was once known as Burma and it is arguably the lest explored country in Asia. If you are looking for an authentic experience on your travels to Asia, Myanmar is the place to go. Its culture, history and traditions are rich. The area offers so many beautiful natural landscapes. From breathtaking snow covered mountains to sparkling lakes, beguiling caves, pristine waterfalls, sandy beaches seemingly untouched by man, lush jungles, ornate pagodas and a culture that has been unspoiled for hundreds of years. A holiday in Myanmar is a truly unique experience that will enrich your life.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“See the sights with a local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We travelled to Yangon by cruise ship and had 2 nights stopover. We wanted to see as much as we could and what better way to see it than with a local, rather than on a cruise ship bus.

There is little doubt that the best way to see Myanmar is not by cruise ship. The distance from the town and the poor condition of the roads means that a 30 minute drive can turn into a 3 hour drive, but if you want to see the place book a private driver before you go there. Sure there are taxis at the port gate, but the cabs are rarely air conditioned and the drivers have varying degrees of English. By booking in advance you can determine where you want to go and what you don't want to do.

We hired Zaw Hein for our first day. He picked us up at 9am and we did not return to the ship until after 10pm. We like to walk and so he built lots of walking with the locals into the tour. We saw the beautiful Shwegdagon Pavillion in daylight and at sunset, we visited Karaweik Hall on the Lake where just walking into this sensational building and seeing all the local regional costumes and sampling the foods made a traditional buffet bearable.

Best of all we got to hear about and see real life in Burma - where the rich live and where the poor live. We learnt about the very young children who come to the city to work. We saw how poor people were but they always had a smile for us. We did not see a beggar. We saw the beauty of the Pagodas - so much wealth in such a poor country but totally respected.

Zaw was not available for the second day and we used his "brother" Mark Gyi whose English and story telling was every bit as good.

Every penny we spent went directly into the pockets of Burmese. A win win situation for us both.


You can contact Zaw on [email protected] He offers a full service travel package and will suggest day trip, hotels and organise flights.

Mark Gyi was everybit as good. Contact him on [email protected]

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
239 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Memories happened here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

We cruised with 28 passengers, multinational. It's a small ship comprised of a bar/seating area, open air dining, and a small forward seating area. Typical arrival review of life jackets, crew introductions, agenda, points of interest and questions answered.

Included are local beverages - produced in Myanmar or other nearby countries - not included are imported spirits or wines. Laundry services available with 24 hour turn around - prices only slightly less than in USA. No delicate of light colored clothing included in laundry. Breakfast is buffet style with special order from small grill/hot plate area - items such as omelettes. The chef has an excellent Asian flair of course a mastery of the local cuisine. Lunch and dinner are ordered from a menu - starter, soup/salad, choice between three entrees (one vegetarian), dessert, and beverage. All meals use local fresh ingredients selected/picked up as we cruise from the various ports. Cocktail hour is from 6:30 to 7:30 along with the daily briefing of the next days schedule. Nightly there is a cocktail of the day, they are must tries.

According to our Tour Guide only on the first day do we travel for a portion of the night prior to mooring overnight, otherwise evening mooring. The country has quickly adopted the tourist custom of tipping, don't believe what you read.

Sandbanks and sandbars wind their way thought the delta, occasionally snaring our vessel. Our group can be described as well traveled, well educated and quite relaxed. Of course some of the ladies find it necessary to dress for dinner - definitely in the minority.

Our meals remain varied, today having grapefruit - not the kind you find in the states but rather different not sweet or tart yet very refreshing.

An additional point - shoes are removed upon returning from shore excursions. When you disembark you are given a bag with cold water (much needed on occasions), help from crew members disembarking and returning. Along the way besides the guide, crew members also are their to keep an eye on the passengers and help as necessary - e.g. taking and putting shoes off and on at pagodas.

Tour Director has very good oral English language. His understanding of English does not match his oral abilities. Suggest a continuing education program with real tourist asking typical tourist questions, thus improving comprehension and broadening knowledge base for the guides. A simply thing such as getting a recipe for a dish prepared in a demonstration, or finding a recipe book, purchasing safe foods stuffs for passengers to possibly sample, etc.

Cooking demonstration:

The Second Chef prepared a typical Burmese egg dish, with the help of our tour guide via translation. The basic ingredients in most dishes are onion, garlic, chili powder, peanut oil, fish sauce, ginger, turmeric, and/or chilis. Care should be taken with the chilis; use whole for less heat, slice and add for lots of heat, or deseed for moderate heat.

Mainstream Burmese cuisine in a blend of Bamar, Mon, Indian, and Chinese influences with rice and noodles being staples at most meals. Burmese foods takes a long time to prepare. There are comprised of curries, masalas, and other basic bases. Noodle dishes are most often eaten at breakfast with the main meal being mid day.

Morning discussion about the current status of the country. Amazing when the questions become difficult the discussion stops.

Our guide can perhaps best be described as idealistic, young, and afraid of what should/could/ought to be said or answered. His countries view prevents him from seeing the entire picture and Myanmar's role versus it's position in the world. For example the importance of tourism and the dollars connected with it, what those dollars do, how they help the country, the circle of the cause and effect of there government actions/inactions on the whole.

Some of the ethnic minorities want separate states, independent from the total country currently called Myanmar. But the country wants the entire populace to remain as one union/republic. Elections process stated as similar to Great Britain, but percentages of military automatic inclusion may impinge on a true representation for the people.

The countries future success towards a more democratic rule is really a distant possibility. The guides description of the country as being similar to a sandwich - China and India are the bread and Mynamar is the cheese. The only problem discussed by him as it related to the Muslins currently in camps near the Indian border. While the Chinese have armed the military and invaded one state near the China border to steal teak.


Ports along the waterway:
Yangon - embarkations
Twante with a city walk excursion
Nyaungdoon moored overnight
Danubyu trishaw visits to monastery and pagoda
Hinthata moored overnight
Myanaung with a city walk excursion
Tonbo - moored overnight
A Kaut Taung cruse by cliff buddha
Kyethei - with a city walk excursion
Prome Pyay - bus excursion
Kanma - moored overnight
Thayet myo - horse brawn excursion with golfing
Lat Pan - moored overnight
Megyaungye - excursion
Min Hla - excursion
Maywe - excursion - moor
Sale - excursion - moor
Tan Kyi Taung - excursion
Nyaung excursion
Bagen/Pagen excursion - moor
Aung Pan Chung - moor
Yandabo excursion
Pauk Taw Pauk Mying - moor
Ava Innwa -excursion
Mandalay excursion
Minguin - Shwe Kyet Yet - excursion
Nwe Nyein excursion
Kyauk Myoung moor
Indown/Endown excursion
Min Gun Village - excursion
Male excursion
Kyunt Thon Pin moor
Saging excursion
Amarapura excursion
Mandalay

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“To Understand The Peple of Myanmar You Must Travel to Myanmar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

What you hear/see in the newa regarding county of Myanmar is not very accurate...to better understand the country of Myanmar and its people of Myanmar, you must travel to Myanmar and see the cities/towns and the people in the villages. Myanmar is a mishmash of many different ethnic groups, bordered by Bangladesh, India, China, Laos and Thailand...and once a British colony. Must dos/see: Ride an air balloon over Bagan to visualize more than 1,500 temples/pagodas/stupas: ride the long boats in Inle Lake; and take a boat cruse on the Irrawaddy River. In November 2014, we took a private 12-day tour of Myanmar, arranged by Buffalo Tour....it was memorable and enjoyable. We are both senior citizens (76 years young), living in Honolulu, HI. I would definitely recommend Buffalo Tours our family and friends. You will be expertly guided by Myanmeses who love their country. The Myanmese people we found to be the most friendlest friendliest people we have met.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tywyn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My Way Travel/Pandaw River Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

My wife and I were fortunate enough to spend part of Feb of 2014 traveling through Myanmar. What a stunning part of the world it was! We had heard such amazing things about visiting there from fellow travelers, so we decided to book a 7 day Pandaw River cruise. We organized and booked our trip through My Way Travel (with the help of their superb agent Emily), and we were extremely pleased with the entire experience.
Our trip was aboard the traditional steamship “the Kalaw,” which was entirely crafted out of local hardwood. It made for such a beautiful “home base” for the journey. While the ship itself was modest in size (it didn’t have all those extravagant amenities that some cruise ships offer), it was perfectly maintained and refurbished, clean, comfortable and really made you feel like you were on a traditional Burmese vessel. The small size of the ship made it possible not only for us to mingle and meet with other travelers along the way, but also enabled us to enter into smaller ports and villages where larger ships would never be able to fit! So we definitely got to see some “local” areas that other travelers most likely miss. From historic sites and holy temples to remote villages and seemingly undiscovered corners of the country, our cruise really gave us the full-on Myanmar experience.
On board we had the time of our lives as well, as the crew and staff was always helpful, friendly and extremely hospitable. The food was delicious, the living quarters were really comfy and there was even a daily laundry service (included!), which was super convenient. Other plusses to the trip were the many excursions, extremely knowledgeable tour guides and even airport pickups… all part of the package deal! It was like going on a Burmese all inclusive getaway! From start to finish the entire experience was simply wonderful. I don’t think I’ll ever forget those gorgeous sunsets from the Kalaw’s deck over the Irrawaddy River! We would highly recommend this cruise to anyone looking for a unique and unforgettable experience in Myanmar. Thanks so much to Emily and My Way Travel for turning us onto this amazing experience… 5 Stars for you guys and a big recommendation to others!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Road to Mandalay - Orient Express”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We’ve just come back from a 12-day Myanmar cruise that we booked through My Way Travel. The “Road to Mandalay” was really an amazing experience and such an eclectic mix of travel styles- just what my husband and I were looking for! Combining some time where we were “roughing it” with the pleasures of five-star luxury, we truly felt like we got the full-on Myanmar experience.
The staff on board was extremely commendable; they were always friendly, knowledgeable and extremely hospitable. The on-board activities and lectures they had prepared for us were also something worth mentioning, and they really brought us up to speed on current and past Myanmar traditions and cultures. Those who were interested in learning about Burma really enjoyed this part of the trip, while the others who were looking to relax just sat out.
Thanks to the river’s depth at this time of the year, we were able to sail to parts of the Irrawaddy that at many other times would be inaccessible. It was quite amazing to explore the villages on the outskirts of the Chinese border- a region that seems like it doesn’t see much tourism whatsoever! From start to finish we really felt like we got a true glimpse of Myanmar and its beautiful people. From on shore to on board we were constantly amazed at the experience that was prepared for us. Even the tourists on board with us made the trip unforgettable! Such an eclectic mix of international travelers made for some great conversation and even more unforgettable memories.
The “Road to Mandalay” was one of the most unique and memorable trips my husband and I have taken to date (and we’re quite the seasoned travelers!). We saw some amazing sites, met some fantastic people and got a true glimpse of what life is like for the locals in Myanmar. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who’s looking for an authentic and unforgettable journey to Myanmar. Thanks so much My Way Travel!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myanmar Private Day Tours also viewed

 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Myanmar Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myanmar Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Myanmar Private Day Tours to your Saves list